Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This time, I went on the journey to Paris by myself. I needed time to be alone and I wanted to see my friends in Paris badly.

Approaching Paris on the flight, I was getting more and more exciting. Paris is for sure one of the greatest city in the world and I am a huge fan of the Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown. Being able to see the great city and experience what Landon saw was absolutely amazing to me, let alone two friends that I haven’t seen for so long awaits me there. 

I found myself an amazing hostel in the center of Paris. Louvre was within 20-minute walking. I was lucky to enter Louvre for free because it was a Friday night. A lot of museums in Paris have free admission from time to time, so just do your research and plan ahead. I am not a big fan for the art from medieval time or the renaissance. With my friends company, we just briefly walked around and saw the most famous three objects. It was kind of late but still a lot of people packed in front of Mona Lisa. Mona Lisa was not as mysterious as the rumor says, probably because of the crowd.

I went to three museum altogether: The medieval and renaissance Louvre, 18 and 19 century Musée d’Orsay and Pompidou center for contemporary art (the kind that I don’t understand and can’t really appreciate). I was a pretty good mixture for me, because it covered a wide span of time.

Paris just have too much to see but it is possible to finish it in a day (only that you don’t go inside and have a proper visit). Besides Panthéon, I didn’t went inside to building to see what’s inside. I didn’t wait inline to go up to the Eiffel Tower. I didn’t go inside l’hôtel des Invalides for the tomb of Napoleon. Well, to my own defense, save it for the next time, or I will have nothing to expect for the next time.

I didn’t intentionally planned for this, but I arrived on June 10, the opening for UAFA 2016. In the weekend, you can see fans everywhere in the city. They are literally all over. At the Arc de Triomphe, a group of fans was singing and there was reporters interviewing them. In the Jardin des Tuileries, fans was gathering together for the coming match. You can tell some of them are pretty drunk but it was a nice experience to be part of a grand meeting.

The weather was not so great. Cloudy and raining for the most of the time, and that’s part of the reason why all my pictures don’t look so great. But the artistic and humanistic elements of the city cannot be hidden, no matter what. Great city indeed.

P.S. Even so I said I was traveling alone to Paris, my friends kept me great company for the whole weekend. We walked from the west to the east trying to cover all the touristy sites. The only thing I regretted a bit is that I didn’t got the chance to try the escargot. All the restaurants we went to was just a random choice. I could have planned this too.

