Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

We went into the mountainous area of Switzerland. The view high up at the top of Europe was breathtaking. The scenery of the lakes was my favorite of all the places I went in these past few weekends.

Right when we arrived at Interlake Ost station, we directly chose to go up to the top of Europe, Jungfraujoch. The train up is pretty slow, but the view outside just completely attracts you, so you don’t really feel it is very slow. It was cloudy and slightly raining the day we went. Even so, the view was still breathtaking. I am so jealously of the local people who can live with the view day by day.

We stopped at a station called Eigergletscher and had lunch. The food was actually pretty good and the price was reasonable. A glass of wine will definitely warm you up. Also, the food was lift all by the train. Impressive!!
Finally arriving at top of Europe, Jungfraujoch, the altitude sickness hit me pretty hard. I can’t spin or turn my head fast, or I would feel a strike of dizziness or even want to throw up. Also, there is a huge temperature difference. Prepare proper clothes for different condition. The top area is rather huge. There is an ice palace, a restaurant and also a chocolate store. At the open area, observation deck and snow sport area, the snow is blindly bright. Sunglasses is a must-have.
Coming back to Interlaken, we had fondue for dinner. It is typical for cold weather. We chose the restaurant of Hotel Interlaken on Höheweg street. This is a historical hotel. Lord Byron and Mendelssohn both once stayed at this hotel. Their name is on the wall. A nice picture to take.
The next morning, we enjoy the tranquillity at Brienzersee. The lake, the mountain and clouds make a perfect scenery.
On our train back to Geneva, we were able to see Thunersee again. It was truly worth going. I am so glad we made it to this trip.
P.S.
1. The train up to Junfraujoch is pretty pricy. 204.4 CHF round trip. I have the half fare pass, therefore I paid 102.2 CHF. The half fare pass is 120 CHF, valid for a month. A trip to the mountain and any other trip elsewhere will just make it worth it. I highly recommend this half fare pass.
2. Hostels provide a lot of useful free stuff. Go and ask you will find extra surprise. My hostel offered a day pass for Interlaken public transport and also an easy breakfast.
