A weekend experiencing new firsts in Chicago

My roommates and I went to Chicago last weekend. It was purely a decision without a second thought. We didn’t plan our trip thoroughly as we always do, though we did book our train tickets and hotel. We didn’t even think about if we can finish our homework in time, let alone prepare for upcoming exams. Due to the lack of preparation and research, we had something unexpected. Nothing bad happened, a lot of first time experiences. Anyway, we did have a great time. I love my roomies. 

This was my first time taking trains in the U.S. The trains were soooo slow!!! It is about 500  km (300 miles) from St. Louis to Chicago and it took us 6 hours to get there. That’s even slower than driving… But the carriage was very comfortable. Luckily there were empty seats for us to stretch legs. The huge space between rows almost enabled me to lay down. Also, the weather overall during the ride was pretty good, so the view outside was enjoyable.

This was my first time seeing snow in April!!! We were caught in big snow and heavy wind Saturday. It was freaking cold. In order to have some great pictures, we faked huge smile in the wind. We jumped and took some shots.

This was my first time having deep dish pizza. It was amazingly delicious. We found an Italian restaurant called Lou Malnati’s Pizzaria on Yelp. They had great great salad!! Best salad I had in all these eight months in America. By the way, it was actually cheap. Each of us spend only about $10 there and we were so full to walk.

Besides all these firsts, the travel itself was fun. We went to two museums and went to a sky deck (360 Chicago) for night view. Amazing art works and amazing night view.

But unlike my other travels in the US, this was the first time I experienced the depressing “concrete jungle”. People in Chicago are pretty lovely, but I sensed less humanism in the city.

Leave a Reply

