Tags

, ,

I went to a thanksgiving potluck yesterday night. It was held by AAAC, Association of African American Collegians. I was an rather interesting and new event for me. This is y first thanksgiving season and the first potluck in the US. I didn’t know what is an appropriate dish to bring over and so i didn’t do it. What a pity because they didn’t care what the dish is if only you want to bring one in.

One thing i noticed at the event is that over 80 percent of the participants were African American students. It’s reasonable because the association of African American Collegians held it, but this title also makes it exclusive to others in a way.

People are always condemning the segregation among races but as far as i’ve noticed, people don’t open to people that do not belong to their own little community.

I had a lovely conversation with a faculty who teaches sociology- social movement. This is actually what we talked about. She asked me if it is the case that us Chinese students always hang out together and stick with our group and reach out only very little. I find it a bit awkward to answer, but I have to confess because we are a bit isolated from the rest involuntarily and voluntarily.

I can’t even tell if I should change. Another thing to adjust to.

