Tip Cards

One thing I notice for American to do presentations is that a lot of them use tip cards as reminders. I am writing in class while people are presenting. I’m not being disrespect but this is really new to me. 

We are doing this presentation for my management course. I feel relieved after our group’s presentation. And I can finally concentrate on the material people are presenting after me. Many of them just don’t put many words on their slides and just structures and key terms. Their slides look so simple and easy to read in a short period of time. But they don’t remember everything, they use tip cards.

It is not the reminder thing that surprised me but the fact they all choose to use the tip cards and it’s of the same size. I don’t know if it’s something you can buy in supermarket. I use reminders myself, but I just print out the material and put marks on it and the slides and that’s all.

I’ve seen this kind of tip cards for TV programs. But I thought it’s because the material is written by someone else instead of the host himself. And they have to make the show look good so they use good looking cards. Maybe have advertisement on the back even. I never expect people using these in real life, for a in-class presentation?!

It’s probably just because they pay a lot attention to this presentation. Another thing to adjust to. Good to know.

Leave a Reply

