Teachers and their bywork

One of the greatest thing about college is that you learn many things outside of the text content from your teachers’ experiences. This is not like high school at all. And teachers in Chinese universities are not like this either. 

Almost every teacher I have this semester had a successful career before they became a teacher in university. As a media communications major, my teachers for the required courses have worked in television station, radio station or the legacy media, newspaper. So I feel so real when they explain this professional terms. I know I can trust them. They are not jibber-jabbering  about some written-in-book but not practical material.

One of my teacher this semester is very interesting. He has about 5 byworks at the same time including his teaching job at Webster. His experience was also very fascinating. He worked for political campaign. He wrote film script. He was a director. And he is writing novels now. He has teaching job in two universities and decides never retire. While explaining the chapters, he used a lot of his own experience and that’s what I like the most about his class.

Teachers in high school and many China’s university on the other hand can be very boring. They stick to the books. No offense but I really feel like it. There is little space for high school teachers to expand and elaborate. They are not to blame. But the teachers in universities should be more creative.

I like it here. Another thing to adjust to but this is time is to blend myself in.

Leave a Reply

