Tags

I recently find out a very interesting phenomenon of saying “Duh Duh Duh”, especially among Americans. 

During class, when waiting for the software to operate, instructor would mutter “duh duh duh”. When completing projects in class, the German girl who sits opposite to me say “duh duh duh”. My friend’s Spanish boyfriend say “duh duh duh” when waiting for the web page popping up. Even when taking order at Subway, people would say “duh duh duh” when they cannot decide which they want. It’s like people are extremely afraid of waiting in silence. You have to say something although what you say means nothing. Another explanation I can figure out is that you want to get it over with. Waiting for the web page to pop up is very boring, but saying “duh duh duh” can probably make people feel the time runs faster.

Honestly, I’ve never did that. And according to my knowledge, Chinese people don’t do similar things. It would make you stupid from others point of view. We regard this strange.

Whenever people do this “duh duh duh” thing, my concentration would float away to that person. Another thing to adjust to. Anyway, I’m quite sure I’ll never say this. It’s so weird and stupid to me.

