Strangers’ Warmth

I feel so nice that strangers smile or say hello and good morning to you. At first, I felt this was quite weird because you almost never do this in our country. But now, I would initiate the greeting when walking on the street. I guess I understand why people here do this. There is just too few people on the street!! If you don’t greet one another, you a) have nothing to do while walking, b) feel weird because your eyesight will always meet with one another. But it’s not a bad thing. China, especially Beijing, on the other hand, is the total opposite situation. We don’t greet or nod at each other. We even dodge the overlapping eye contact. Rationally speaking, it’s more practical, though it sounds a bit aloof. You’ll always have too many people around you, so It’s impossible to greet everyone. I believe this is the indifference that major cities in common. I wonder whether NYC or LA is like us.

Another thing to adjust to. But I’m very happy to embrace this.

Leave a Reply

