Green Hats

“Wearing green hats” is the ultimate joke in a man’s life in us Chinese people’s sense, and I see one today!!! 

One of my classmates wore a black-green strip hat  in today’s afternoon class. The hat itself is weird enough for me, because normally you only wear that kind of hat in winter or at least cooler days. Also, the green color just made me want to laugh out loud. (But I managed to hold it back.) Because for Chinese men, “to wear a green hat” means your girlfriend or your wife cheats on you. There is a saying using the green hat.

Although I want to laugh, I’m actually accustomed to this. A few years ago, my family and I travelled to the border province of China and Vietnam. We saw men wearing green hats. According to the tour guide, it’s very normal in their country. Even a country right next to China don’t have this customs, I can’t really expect the American people understand my point.

Another thing to adjust to. I’ll learn only to notice but not to laugh.

Leave a Reply

