Weird and Impractical Curtains

The window-shades in my bedroom is broken from the first day I live in. It’s ok, really. I just have to worry about whether I’m being watched from the outside. Apart from that, there is small gaps in between which can’t block sunlight when you try to take a nap in the afternoon. And I’ve reported it since, but the public safety told me that it is not their working priority, so I’ll have to wait until they get all the important and life-mattering things done. It’s also ok, really.

So this blog is not me complaining about a broken window-shades, but about how weird and impractical this thing even exist. Normally, no one in my home country install this at home or anywhere. But I find almost every home choose this sort of curtain. It can be romantic in some people’s view but I don’t get it from pragmatic view. It’s easily broken, difficult to repair, let alone the gaps don’t block sunlight and sunlight can’t fully get in when you need it. I just don’t understand the science of it.
In my country and many other places I’ve visited, curtains are just curtains. A horizontally-set pole and two pieces of cloths. I hate darkness during daytime and lightness during naps. Another thing to adjust to. Maybe I’ll enjoy the inconvenience and find beauty in it one day.
Leave a Reply

