I understand the words but I really don’t…

Yesterday was the first day of this semester. It was tiring but exciting.

Tiring is because I had three classes and spent nearly 5 hours exposed to second language environment.  Teachers are knowledgable and friendly but they speak very fast most of the time. I think I understand most of the contents while the topics they chose or say examples they used were usually out of my field. It’s like reading a book about mathematics. You know the words but you don’t know the formulas, let alone to understand the process of how it is proved. That’s exactly how I felt.

When they started things about “anchor babies”, I partly get it. When talking about vaccination of school kid, it’s acceptable. But when they started sports no matter baseball or fantasy blabla, I totally lost it. We only talk about badminton and table tennis in China for god sake.

Anyway, classes are interesting but a bit challenging when you are completely new to a place. Another thing to adjust to.

 

Leave a Reply

